Proceeds from the ads below will be donated to the Bob Wuesthoff scholarship fund.

Wednesday, September 02, 2009

Two Games

Angels Offense Falters, Izturis' Aybar's (Non-) Error Proves Costly: Mariners 2, Angels 1

September landed with a thud for the Angels, who scratched out a single run on Maicer Izturis' RBI double in the second. That was all the vaunted Angels offense would get against M's starter Doug Fister and the Seattle bullpen.

Izturis didn't get charged with an error when Franklin Gutierrez' grounder skipped under his glove, but he should have, in my estimation; Jose Lopez cashed him in on a double (and got thrown out at third for his trouble, violating the never-get-thrown-out-at-third-as-the-first-or-last-out rule). Meh.

The good news was a very good start by Ervin Santana; similarly, it's hard to fault Darren Oliver for giving up the occasional run. The bad news was a pair of Texas wins in a doubleheader that eroded the Angels' division lead by a game and a half, to 4.5 games.

Yahoo boxAngels recap

Dodgers Squeak Past Snakes: Dodgers 4, Diamondbacks 3

I didn't watch but the final couple innings of this, but forget the offense, forget the pitching, and remember Andre Ethier's flashy catch in the outfield to save at least a double and possibly a home run for Ramon Troncoso. Coming on the heels of his seventh-inning RBI walk to give the Dodgers the lead, it was almost the Andre Ethier show.

Yahoo boxDodgers recap

Labels: , , , ,

That's 4-3 (not 5-4).
It was Aybar's miscue that led to the run in the seventh.
My question is, in the 8th inning, Izturis hits a leadoff double. Aybar, the next batter, fouls out to left field on the first pitch. WHY WASN'T HE BUNTING??? The next two batters, Napoli and Figgins, both flied out to the outfield as well. Surely one of them could have cashed in Izturis had Aybar bunted him over. That was the game right there. Stupid managing IMO.
Well, Maxwell beat me to it, but it would have been really unfair to give Izturis an error on that play since it went under Aybar's glove. Regardless, if Abreu comes up with the ball cleanly in right field, they probably throw Gutierrez out at the plate, assuming they would have still sent him.
It's always somethin'. Fixed above.

Post a Comment

Newer›  ‹Older
This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

WWW 6-4-2